Bareback!

I did it!  I did it!  I rode bareback!  Leah wanted me to try it out and so for the event, I rode another horse, a beautiful gal with blue eyes named Sadie who is, as described by Leah, “a picnic table with legs.”  That’s because she has a very flat trot, not because you could spread a red-and-white checked tablecloth on her back and feast on grape Kool-Aid and deviled eggs while you shoo away ants.

I started out with my saddle to get used to how she felt, then, with the help of a step-ladder, clambered aboard. 

My gosh, but does it feel different up there without a saddle!  The horse is so warm and you can feel her spine, her ribs, and her muscles!  It’s all about balance and not gripping with  the legs (as is my want); balance and keeping the ankle nice and loose and relaxed.

It’s also easier to ask the horse to move over without the saddle.  All I needed to do in order to encourage Sadie not to cut corners was press a bit with my inside leg and she responded.  Just like that!  Most of the time I feel like I’m pressing and straining and not getting much response.  So maybe that was a combination of Sandy herself and being sans saddle. 

I suprised both my teacher and myself with my seat.  I was relaxed!  I mean, not totally, and when the horse made a shaper-than-expected turn, I thought she was going to walk out from under me and leave me in mid-air like Wile E. Coyote before he figures out he he has no visible means of support.

Bottom line:  It was wonderful!.

Leave a comment

Filed under Riding Skills, The Rider's Body

Leave a Reply

