Is Snobbiness a Problem?

Since I’ve come late to this horse world, I honestly don’t know much about what is and is not Top Drawer, nor what is Bottom Drawer as defined by the Top.  But I’m begining to get an inkling that there’s lots o’snobbiness out there.

Not that I’m without snobbiness.  Why, even as a child, I turned up my nose at Disney’s Winnie-the-Pooh because I cut my Pooh-Teeth on the books , the one with the Ernest Shepard drawings.  Heck, I even had all of the Pooh stuffed animals at one time prior to the Disneyfication of Pooh — except for Rabbit.  My Rabbit was a generic standing bunny and didn’t look like much like either Disney’s or Shepard’s.  And when I first saw the Disney stuffed toys, well!  I knew the difference! They were cartoony, nothing at all like the pen and ink pictures in the books — and none of those abridged and watered down stories for me, either, Oh no. The full Pooh kielbasa or nothing at all.  So there.

A few months ago I heard the phrase, “Well, they do quarter-horse English” in reference to a stable, as though quarter horses can’t do anything excpet round up dogies, smoke stogies and yodel.  Not that I can do any of the three. OK, once I smoked a cigar and was violently ill.  But it wasn’t a compliment and wasn’t meant to be.  At the one show I attended, I was blissfully out of the loop so if anyone was behaving correctly and yet rudely (surely the embodiment of snobbery), I was too dense to catch on. I like being dense!

1 Comment

Filed under Popular Culture

One response to “Is Snobbiness a Problem?

  1. Wait until you discover the anti-snobbery-snobbery.

    The scene goes like this:

    Dressage Queen: “My imported Fluffernumpkinspoopsiekin is so much better than your… what is your horse, anyway? A [gasp] common TB?”

    TB Rider: “Just wait until my $1,000 OTTB whoops Fluffer’s bum in the high-point award. I’ll show you!”

    It’s like people are so proud of not being snobby, they reach the other side of snobbery.

    But most people, honestly, just love horses and love riding and leve the snobbery at the door. There are a ton of stereotypes about breeds and disciplines (and which is better, and why), but these are mostly funny and I don’t think very many people actually take them seriously.

    For all that I make fun of DQs, for example, I’ve never actually met one. All the dressage riders I know are down to earth, good people–who like a horse no matter what its breed or how blinged up the rider happens to be (or not).

Leave a Reply

