Gabby in Iso-6

Gabby is still in an isolation stall since the tests that will be negative (fingers crossed!) havn’t come back yet.  So I went and visited her over the weekend.  Yesterday, my sister-in-law June and my husband Jack came along and we all got to feed her some carrots. Gabby sneezed all over Jack. 

I tried to explain the isolation stall to my friend Kellie who said, “What, is she on suicide watch?  Is there a little window where they can peer in to check on her and make sure she’s OK?”

Um.  Kinda, yeah.  The stall is made of block and painted off white/vanilla/ecru and there is indeed a window on the inside.  The stalls are accessible for human from the inside and for horses from the outside.  The exterior doors are Dutch doors/stall doors, so the top swings open and you can visit with your horse or maybe they can open the door and let the horse look around at the back of the horticulture school.

The doctor called me to let me know how she was doing.  Man — when was the last time a doctor called to let you know something?  That is the coolest thing about vets!  They call!  Gabby’s still experiencing pain and when I looked at her, the muscles over her left shoulder were twitching away like crazy.  Not huge big but constant.  I spent a lot of time looking at one shoulder and then the other, just to make sure I was seeing what I thought I saw and not what I expected to see. But yep, there’s an obvious difference from one side to the other.  But she was scooting around OK inside the stall on Saturday.  I thought she was a bit stiff on Sunday; didn’t come over to me as fast but maybe she was dozing with her eyes open.  Life in Iso-6 can’t be very interesting so dozing seems like the proper response.  But treats certainly got her attention and were gobbled in no time.

What’s most interesting, however, is the history that has been unearthed about Gabby, her refusal to jump, and her current symptoms.  The pieces of the puzzle are coming together and this makes me feel pretty hopeful (There’s not much that’s worse than No Information.  I mean, I was searching Google and finding out all sorts of bad things about horse diseases and worrying a lot).

2 Comments

Filed under Gabby

2 responses to “Gabby in Iso-6

  1. Any news yet? What do you/they think it might be? This must be so worrying for you. 😦

  2. My fingers are crossed tight along with my toes.

Leave a Reply

