Coming Home Today

Gabby’s problems remain mysterious.  We know we do not have a fracture or a major degenerative joint disease.  We might have a bone infection of the withers.  But it’s up in the air because if that’s the case, they’re seeing the problem a lot earlier than usual.  She’s supposed to come home today and will take antimicrobials and antinflamatories for two weeks, after which time her fibrinogen levels will be checked and we’ll see what’s what.  I need to remember to get her blanket in my car.  It’s been drying in the garage after a trip to the laundromat.  At least I hope it’s dry.

I didn’t even ask for a prognosis although I guess I should have.  I have to be informed and ask questions about the future AND  I have to take things one day at a time. That’s the way it is with many illnesses, isn’t it? You have to be educated and informed and yet stay in the moment and not look too far ahead (which is where exactly I do not know) and also not get mired. 

Balance balance balance. 

2 Comments

Filed under Epiphanies, Gabby, Horse Chores

2 responses to “Coming Home Today

  1. Welcome back, Gabby! I hope she’s feeling much better soon and that … I don’t know. That something wonderful and surprising happens to/for you ‘cuz you kinda deserve it.

  2. With diligence, dedication and faith, you will get your answers. The day to day is so hard, but for someone you love, it is worth it. Welcome Home Gabby.

Leave a Reply

