Wind Rider by Susan Williams

I was nosing around the Young Adult section of the library the other day looking specifically for girl horse books and found Wind Rider.  I read a bunch of it this morning while cycling to nowhere at at the gym, a great time to get some reading done especially if you’re not into getting your pulse read by the pulse-reading-handles.  You can actually hold the book in your hands since you are not attempting an upper-body work-out.

I’m a fan of the YA genre but I havn’t read much of it in awhile, so it’s a pleasure to dive into something with a strong female main character and a horse.  I’m envious of Fern, the protagonist, a young woman in prehistoric Asia who has saved a young wild horse and is learning to ride.  I’m envious because she has so little fear as she topples from her foundling again and again in the quest to learn how to ride.

The idea to ride comes to Fern in a dream, which is a most excellent way for a character in a book to figure out what they know or what they want to know.  It’s a good way for 3-D folks too, but in a novel the tactic fits nicely into the narrative structure and doesn’t bore the hell out of people.

The saving and ownership of the horse is also perfect in the wish-fullfilment department.  What I loved the most about horse books when I was a kid is the fantasy of owning your own horse, what thas by even more right yours sinc eyou’d saved it from Certain Death.  Duh, I know, but I get excited all over again and never tire of this same triumph in girl horse books:  She’s got her own horse! It’s hers!  It’s hers!

Many more trials are ahead for Fern and I’m eager to read on.  The swift pace and clean narrative of a good YA book are real and true reading pleasures.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Wind Rider by Susan Williams

  1. I’m with you, I love the YA horse books and especially the ones with the girls. And my favorite part is when they get their own horse. I think I was logging it away in my brain somewhere, “if she can, I can!” It’s amazing the places you can find hope if you look for it.

  2. Hi,
    It’s great to hear about someone reading Wind Rider. I didn’t own my own horse until 16 years ago when I got a Shetland pony for my girls for Christmas. I was 37. I had worked my way up from goats. When I felt like I could manage worming, hoof care, shots, etc. we got Chestnut. Hopefully his “story” (fictional of course) will be my next book. After a year of leading the girls on the pony, I bought a two year old Morgan-cross mare for 500 dollars and trained her myself. I took her for walks with a bridle on, and one day, I just led her to a log and slid onto her back. She never bucked! I still have Katy. My horses are a great joy to me. It’s a good dream!
    Best,
    Sue

Leave a Reply

