Thank You!

I want to thank everyone for the good words of support and encouragement as I transition from Gabby to Moe.  You’ve got to know when to hold ’em and know when to fold ’em, which is what my mom said when she retired from teaching at Michigan State University, and I’m  glad I didn’t endure (horse-wise) the equivalent of an entire teaching career at a major Midwestern university in the department of American Thought and Language.  Anyone out there teach English at the college level?  Then you know what I mean.  Hm, that was a long-winded way of saying that I’m glad I was able to pass Gabby along.  And I’m glad you all thought it was a good idea. 

Leah was concerned that with this step (selling Gabby to her),  I would regret letting Gabby go; that one day owning my own potential champion would be an asset as my riding improved. She didn’t say that in so many words but between her concern and the comments of others, that’s what I take away from it.

I’m not a champion kind of gal.  I’m low to the ground. I like small houses and small cars. I like shoes with a low heel and I like to sit on the floor when I work, knit, read, or watch TV. I’d like to sleep on the ground if it weren’t for the damp and the bugs. Oh, and the fact the ground is hard. I’m like water, seeking its own level, and Moe fits in with that philosophy while also affording me a chance to ride. 

Thanks again!

2 Comments

Filed under Epiphanies, Gabby, Learning, Mopey, Ownership, Riding Skills, The Rider's Body

2 responses to “Thank You!

  1. You’re on to another horse. Good for you. It’s hard enough having problems with a horse but to have it be your first horse is really a bummer. I’m glad you didn’t get frustrated and quit over it.

  2. Hi there, I enjoyed reading about your ordeals over transferring from one horse to another. I know from experience it can be an exhausting experience and its good to share your passion for horses with other people. I’m sure Gabby will be worth the dedication 🙂

    Danny
    EquestrianCupid

Leave a Reply

