Wanderin’ Mo

During my last lesson, Mo got loose while I groomed him in his stall.  I wasn’t paying attention and besides, the horse always stays in there even when the door’s open so what’s the problem, eh?  No problem.  No problem until His Mo-ness wandered out of his stall with me yelling “Stop! Stop!” as if it would do any good, running along behind him, looking for a place to grab.

“Mo is loose!” I yelled and Dennis saw what was up, so in his much bigger voice he yelled “Loose horse!” and follwed Mo who wandered into the indoor arena.  I ran back to his stall, grabbed his lead and a treat, ran into the indoor arena from the other open end so I wouldn’t inadvertently push him out with my frenetic presence, and he was happy to eat my treat and submit to the lead line.

“Just what do you think you’re doing, letting all my horses out?” said Leah. Thank god she’s got a sense of humor and patience.  “Ha ha!” I said, “We’re all professionals here!” This is the third time a horse has gotten away from me.

There’s a note on the white board that hangs in front of Mo’s stall:  “Always lead with chain over nose.”  The other day, some people were saying that Mo had never given them any trouble and they didn’t understand why anyone would ever need to do that.  I pointed to my elbow and its new pink skin.

4 Comments

Filed under Mopey

4 responses to “Wanderin’ Mo

  1. erica

    I love it: “His Mo-ness”! I had lots of trouble with my QH getting away from me. Does he run away, or does he just drift away? I really hate it when people say this to me, but it’s a respect problem! I forgot — how much ground work do you do with him? My QH was a lot more dangerous on the ground than under saddle, but a little consistent, regular ground work did the trick.

  2. He drifts. Yeah, R-E-S-P-E-C-T, find out what it means to me (“Not much,” sez Mo).

  3. GP

    every now and again alle tries that… she’s smart and will take the opening; though she’s tons better now. Dont necessarily think it’s a respect issue though… they’re just smart guys and know the “way out”

    gp in montana

  4. I loved “His Mo-ness” too, I could just see the attitude! and riderone is right about the R-E-S-P-E-C-T! The varmint, making you look bad…..how dare he! I have one like that here, I’m going to have to find some time to post about him on my blog, MiKael’s Mania – Arabian Horses I think he stays up nights thinking of ways to put egg on my face.

Leave a Reply

