Hunter Pace

This Saturday, one of my barn mates and I are going to participate in a Hunter Pace.   Audrey will ride her Dusty and I’ll ride my Mo.  We’ll be in the Go Horse Go! class, which means that we will try to maintain a pace of 4 mph over a course that will be between 3 and 6 miles long.

So.  Is there such a thing as a hippodometer? Equiped? Equipedometer? How do I figure out exactly how fast Mo moves?   I don’t have a clue.

I’m not overly worried about winning, just looking forward to the fun of riding outside on a marked path.  Audrey and I are a team, the Cultured Pearls (Dusty is white, Mo is black, and we humans are getting a bit of age on us but in a good way). Other folks from the barn are doing the Hunter Pace too, probably in the faster division where some jumping is required.  Yes, there will be obstacles and no, we shall not jump them.

4 Comments

Filed under Competition, Mopey

4 responses to “Hunter Pace

  1. This sounds like fun. I have no idea how you figure out how fast you are traveling either. But I’ll bet there is a trick to it.

    Also, wanted to tell you that I finally did a post from when you tagged me way back when I first started blogging in Jan or early Feb. I did a link to you site and to that original post with the 5 things you posted and where you tagged me, now that I’ve learned to do some of those things, and I tagged 5 more people. LOL a little slow but better late than never, I guess.

  2. I can’t wait to hear how it went! Sounds like tons of fun.

  3. denise

    I will be doing my very first hunters pace in october. No jumping for us either.
    I think to find my mph on horseback I will have to go a measured distance and see how long it takes.
    If it takes me 20 mins to walk a mile then that is 3 miles per hour…if it take 15 doing walk trot to cover a mile that would be 4 mph..now to find that measured mile…

  4. Hi,what a beautiful jeans,thanks for sharing.I will get one like that.bill

Leave a Reply

