Carriage Driving

Dr. Ellen Schmidt of Scotland e-mailed me to tell me about her site: http://www.discover-horse-carriage-driving.com and it is just loaded with neat pictures and information!  I think what I like best (well, best so far: I’ve hardly had time to scratch the surface) is the picture of the jolly pair of cute little Fjord horses pulling the cart in Germany. Check out Dr. Schmidt’s Wild Troika Games page for a neat picture and an explanation of how the troika works. My own barn was sponsoring some lessons back in the fall courtesy of Bob (Bob works there) and Cookie the Awesome Pony.  Since hands (the human ones) are so important in riding, I imagine that those same hands have a lot to do with carriage driving.  Can you feel the horse’s mouth from all the way back there in the seat of the cart?  I’d like to know more about that!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Horse Stuff

Leave a Reply

