Bareback Mo Lesson

It was cold last night, for sure, but it was straight-ahead cold, not the kind that comes with dampness and huge amounts of wind. Clear sky, stars, that sort of thing. I got to the barn a bit early and spent some time reading an article on cosmology and brains in space that Jack found for me but I get hung up over pretty much anything past 14,000 feet above sea level (I was on Pike’s Peak once and that’s enough) so I just don’t get it.  But the barn cats were fighting for space on my lap and that’s always nice.  Leah suggested that I do the entire lesson sans saddle to which I eagerly agreed.  I used to ride the late and lamented Sadie bareback, rode Gabby bareback once, and have gone a couple of turns on Mo. But trotting? Bareback? Ah . . .no. 

At first, I was nervous, trying to get Mo to move in a particular direction. He spooked at a couple of jumps and generally wandered around because I was too nervous at first to give him any direction.  Dear old Mo — he had my number right away and wasn’t going to do a damn thing that he didn’t have to. So after a few cries of “whoops!” and “Oh dear!”, Leah put me on the lunge line.  That was great.  It was wonderful and relaxing to know that someone else was in control and I when I relaxed, I was able to keep my seat and also able to tell Mo to move, darnit!Move! Plus it’s amazing how easy it is to feel what he’s doing! And warm? Mmm . . . .must be what the cats felt like when they sat on my lap. Never has there been more hair on my fuzzy winter riding pants than there was after last night’s lesson.

3 Comments

Filed under Learning

3 responses to “Bareback Mo Lesson

  1. I am waiting for my trainer to ask me to ride my new boy bare back..I will be nervious to.
    So good to read that I am not the only one.
    I love you blog and added it to mine.

  2. You definitely can’t beat riding bareback in the winter … or cuddly kitties for that matter. Glad you were able to relax and have a good ride.

    A friend of mine is doing a lot of Parelli training and such with his wife’s unconfident horse, and I hopped on the horse bareback the other day while Dave did some games and exercises with the horse. It was opposite though … the horse was nervous because he didn’t know who to listen to (even though I wasn’t directing at all, just sitting), and that made me a little nervous. But we managed to work it out and it was a lesson for him.

Leave a Reply

