Back in MY day . . .

I hung out during a lesson the other night. Not one of my better decisions because it was way cold. It was an attempt to provide moral support to a friend who would have been working out there (to me, it’s out there) on a cold dark night, so I sat in on her class (she taught 5 girls) and sorta kinda help direct traffic once the lesson was over.

Watching the students and their parents reminded me of the days when I tool lessons, and in those days parents did not stay. They did not stay at birthday parties, they did not stay at lessons, they did not stay at sports practice, they did not stay at Brownie meetings or choir meetings or play with the children.

This is no longer the case and has not been the case for about 20 years, but I’m not used to it.  And it was colder than . . .oh my goodness the swear words I could use to describe the cold! . . .so it was good that the girls had some help with putting away saddles and such. And I sympathize with the families that have to pick up one kid from one activitiy and then get on the road to pick up the next kid from the next activity (no one goes to bed before 10:30 p.m. anymore either and I really hate to see that as well).  But I don’t sympathize with parents who give their kids directions while the kids are in class. The child should have only one teacher at a time. I believe this because I myself cannot listen to more than one person at a time. And the teacher can’t tell the parent to be quiet.

Fly predator update: They are on order. The first batch should ship in April

Gabby update: She is fine. I give her a treat every now and again and wonder at her prehensile upper lip.

4 Comments

Filed under Flies, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back in MY day . . .

  1. Rachel

    I taught group lessons at a therapeutic riding school and most parents did not stay. Some sat and read the paper or talked on their Blackberrys. It was strange to me, because my parents were breathing down my neck, terrified that at any moment I was going to get hurt!

    I guess some parents may not realize how dangerous riding can be? Maybe they see it as another form of soccer practice where they get an hour off, to be a regular human again?

  2. Very interesting and useful article !

  3. never was allowed to take riding lessons but did all of the others and no my parents didn’t say except when they were the teachers which happned often in Girl Scouts. Neither did I stay when my son had some activity to go to. BUT—-if I was a parent again I would look at it as a chance to get far away for a few mintues and yes you can only lestion to one person at a time. Or I do. and if I was either a teacher or a parent that saw another parent interferring with a class I would have to say something to someone to try and get it stopped. The child can’t learn that way. Just as my husband can’t lean that our dog can’t listen to both of us at once. Sorry to rattle but it caught my attention. Nice blog.

  4. Lacey

    PLease check out horse-pet-products-blog.blogspot.com
    as well as http://www.horse-pet-products.com
    We would aprecaite your feed back and your buisness.

Leave a Reply

